Weighted Blanket from Sensory Goods {Review}

Weighted Blanket from Sensory Goods {Review} - jenniferajanes.com

Weighted Blanket from Sensory Goods

Update: The winner of the weighted blanket from Sensory Goods is Carla!

While I was pulling together Autism Awareness Month, Facebook suggested the Sensory Goods Page to me. I clicked over and saw that they sell weighted blankets, along with other items. On a whim, I contacted them about a partnership, and Sensory Goods agreed to send me a blanket for Princess Roo to use—and agreed to let me give one away to you!

I received a free weighted blanket from Sensory Goods in exchange for an honest review. All opinions are my own. I received no other compensation for this post. Your experience with Sensory Goods products may vary.

I had heard about the benefits of weighted blankets for people with autism and Sensory Processing Disorder, so I wanted to see how Princess Roo did with one. Ironically, her blanket (in a princess print, of course 😉 ) arrived the same day of the Sensory Conference. She immediately liked the way it looked, and I was pleased too. One side is printed cotton fabric. The other is a solid color flannel. I wasn’t prepared for the weight, although I’m not sure what I thought a six-pound blanket was going to feel like. The weight is very evenly distributed, and my daughter climbed under the blanket immediately.

weighted blanket, jenniferajanes.com

My daughter has responded well to the blanket. She says it feels good; she enjoys the deep pressure it provides. She has slept under it every night since we received it a month ago, and she will often bring it into the family room to use while she watches TV. It did make her too warm at first, but we dealt with that by turning the ceiling fan on in her room at night.

As an added bonus to her liking it, I have seen positive results from her use of the weighted blanket. She seems to settle down for bed more easily, with less getting up and down and wandering around the house. Since she’s staying in bed, still and quiet, she falls asleep more quickly! It’s a win-win for everyone because she’s getting more sleep, and that helps with her disposition.

I am pleased with this weighted blanket—both its construction and the benefits it has for Princess Roo. I am very excited that Sensory Goods is going to give a blanket to one of you!

This giveaway is open to adults age 18 or older in the Continental U.S. It is not endorsed, administered, sponsored, or promoted by Pinterest, Facebook, Twitter, or any other social media site. The giveaway will run through April 30, 2013, at 9:00 p.m. CDT. When the giveaway ends, the winner will be notified by email. The winner will have 48 hours to respond with the requested information. (If I don’t receive that information within 48 hours, I will choose another winner.) The information will be passed on to Sensory Goods, and the company will send you a list of blankets to choose from, and the winner will work out all details directly with Sensory Goods. Please enter using the Giveaway Tools widget below.

 

If you would like to order your own weighted blanket from Sensory Goods, you can use the coupon code JanesAware13 for free shipping! This coupon code is good from April 15, 2013, through April 30, 2013.

Photo credit: Jennifer A. Janes

For more information and giveaways for Autism Awareness Month, please visit the landing page by clicking the graphic below:

Autism Awareness Month: April 2013 - jenniferajanes.com

Disclosure: I received a free weighted blanket from Sensory Goods in exchange for an honest review. All opinions expressed are my own. I was not required to write a positive review. I received no other compensation for this review.

This entry was posted in Autism, Sensory Processing Disorder, Special Needs. Bookmark the permalink.

38 Responses to Weighted Blanket from Sensory Goods {Review}

  1. Kelli Reynoldson says:

    Ive often wondered if a weighted blanet would help my son. I tried to make one once but I’m definitely not a seamstress :) thank you for the opportunity.

  2. Lena says:

    I’ve seen a lot of potential for the use of a weighted blanket with D, but have never had one to use with him. I’d love the opportunity for him and for Pouty!

  3. Jami says:

    At the advice of Little Man’s OT, I’ve researched getting one before but have been unable to swing it. I would love to see how a weighted blanket would help him because all of the research I have done says it would be totally worth it.

  4. MichelleH says:

    I think my son would benefit from the weighted blanket, but the cost has been prohibitive. Winning one would be a tremendous blessing.

  5. Becky M says:

    I think a weighted blanket would help my youngest son sleep at night.

  6. Michelle Gills says:

    I think this would help my son rest peacefully through the night. Thank you for doing this great giveaway!

  7. Margarete says:

    My daughter was given one a few years ago and it helped her sleep much better. I think it’s time for another because she has grown in height and weight. Thank you for this giveaway.

  8. Jo says:

    Would love a weighted blanket to try out for my kids on caseload. It would be great to give out to see if it works for a particular child, before parents buying one.

  9. Pingback: Autism Awareness Month: April 2013 - Jennifer A. Janes

  10. mimi rankin says:

    my son responded very well to his weighted blanket at school, but sadly, we cant afford one for home just yet!

  11. Sarah says:

    my boys would benefit from the blankets!! A lot I think.

  12. Betty says:

    My Hannah has outgrown her first weighted blanket, and I haven’t found time to make a new one. Would love to get one for her. 😉

  13. Jen says:

    I have been wanting to try one of these with my daughter, but have hesitated because of the price. I’m encouraged to read that it’s working well with your daughter!!

  14. Penny Rogers says:

    We made a weighted vest. I would love to try a blanket to see if we get the same results.

  15. Danelle says:

    My son uses one in therapy and also at school when he has one of his “moments”. He is on the Autism spectrum. It would be nice to have that kind of tool to use during those same times at home.

  16. Nicole Morrison says:

    I would love this for my son! Thanks for the entry.

  17. Lorraine says:

    We are currently using a couple of pillows wrapped in a comforter as a substitute for a weighted blanket. It works well, weighs about 7 pounds. Thing is, it’s really too hot for the coming summer months. I’m not sure what we’ll do then. I guess I need to get a real one soon.

  18. Judy says:

    My last two children have had major sleep issues, getting up at least half a dozen time each night until almost the age of two. Friends have suggested a weighted blanket, and I’d love to give it a try!

  19. Beth says:

    I think this would be something that both of my kids would use.

  20. Medina Mom says:

    I honestly hope it will help at least one of the boys get better rest than they are now as I know I have passed this issue on to them. I, personally, cannot sleep if my coverings are too light, no matter how hot they make me.

  21. Jackie Gabb says:

    My daughter has not slept a whole night in all of her 10 years. I would love to try this method. Thanks.

  22. Sharla says:

    Some of my sensory needs kids love the weighted blankets and some don’t. The two that do absolutely sleep better with them and they can even help to regulate them in the daytime. In general, sensory stuff has made a hugely positive impact on our kids. Glad you got to give one a try!

  23. Joanie Faircloth says:

    I would like to win a weighted blanket because I believe my son could really benefit from one. He is 2 years old and diagnosed with severe classic autism about 3 months ago. He has a lot of trouble with sleep. He is often awake until 2am-3am. This is really a problem because he has an intensive schedule of therapies every day and he does not give his all and can really disrupt the therapy when he is cranky from little sleep. I have tried everything, including melatonin reccommended by his doctor but nothing has helped. I started researching weighted blankets about a month ago but they are pretty pricey. I am trying to save up for one but it’s difficult with therapy payments, etc. Also, I cannot work because Alex cannot be in daycare yet because he’s too young for the special needs daycare in our area. My husband is the sole provider of 5 people (I have two other children) and we are just getting by. I want to bring my son some relief, I want him to be able to sleep, I want to give him everything he needs but I also have to put our necessities first and often, there’s nothing left over. Anyway, please consider my son for the weighted blanket. I really believe it could help him so much not just with sleep but in turn with his therapies and maybe one day I’ll be able to hear him say “I love you mommy.”

  24. Angie says:

    We have been really curious to see if a weighted blanket would help our son. Sounds like it really worked out for Roo!

  25. Pingback: Saturday Homeschool Givewaways, Discounts and Freebies - 4/27/13 - Homeschooling...On Faith and Coffee | Homeschooling...On Faith and Coffee

  26. Carla Mattingly says:

    My two year old doesn’t sleep well. I think this would help.

  27. Lisa Colpo says:

    Would love to win this its so beautiful!

  28. Jen Midkiff says:

    A weighted blanket would help my daughter sleep at night.

  29. Monica smith says:

    John Caleb needs a weighted blanket… Fingers crossed!

  30. Seth Smith says:

    My son needs one of these…

  31. MommaBarr says:

    I have wanted to get one for my daughter. She is often unable to calm herself and going without sleep has lasted as long as 36 hours.

  32. meme says:

    I really think B would benefit from this he has trouble sleeping and gets out of bed constantly we have heard about a weighted blanket a lot but have been unable to get one right now.

  33. Denise Walker says:

    I think my daughter would benefit so much from a weighted blanket at home, she uses one at school and she loves it. They say it really helps her calm down.

  34. mackenzie h says:

    I have two kiddos with sensory issues, OT has helped one to fall asleep more easily, the other is harder to settle and I think this would help a lot.

  35. Pingback: Autism Awareness Month Wrap-Up 2013 - Jennifer A. Janes

  36. Christine Nadolny says:

    I want to make bit don’t have a sewing machine. My son likes weight on him and always liked being tightly swaddled as a baby.

  37. Kerry says:

    My teenage daughter has used a weighted blanket in a hospital; I would love to get one for our home as she said it really helped her.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *